From CrawlWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Version 0.17: This article may not be up to date for the latest stable release of Crawl.

The threat level of a monster is an indicator of how difficult or dangerous that monster is. This information is accessible through the monster list at the right side of the screen, or in the monster's descriptions. Ashenzari's monster detection, and Okawaru's piety gain also make use of this information. The game defines four tiers:

Threat level Monster's name Description
Trivial Dark grey "It looks harmless."
Easy Light grey "It looks easy."
Tough Yellow "It looks dangerous."
Nasty Light red "It looks extremely dangerous."


It is basically a ratio between the amount of experience points accumulated by the player and how many xp points a monster can provide.

Tension = Monster's XP points / ( 1 + sqrt(Player's XP points / 30))
If Tension is less than 1, Threat = Trivial
Else if Tension is less than 6, Threat = Easy
Else if Tension is less than 33, Threat = Tough
Else, Threat = Nasty