From CrawlWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Version 0.28: This article is up to date for the latest stable release of Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup.
The Monk is a member of an ascetic order dedicated to the perfection of one's body and soul through the discipline of the martial arts. Monks start with only a simple weapon and a robe. When they choose a god for the first time, their spiritual training gives them a piety boost.

Preferred Races

Hill Orc, Merfolk, Gargoyle, Troll, Demonspawn, Palentonga, and Deep Dwarf are the recommended races if you pick a Monk Background.

Racial Restrictions

Demigods cannot be Monks, as they refuse to worship a god.

Starting Equipment

Some species may receive different items based on their unique restrictions.

Starting Skills and Stats

These are adjusted by your species' aptitudes.

Choosing Monk adds 3 to your starting Strength, 2 to your starting Intelligence and 7 to your starting Dexterity.


Monks do not start with a god, but automatically gain ** piety when they first convert to a god[1]. The following gods have special properties with monks:

  • Ashenzari: Monks are provided the first set of curses much sooner.
  • Gozag: Monks skip the entry fee[2].
  • Ru: Monks are immediately given a set of sacrifice options to make upon conversion.
  • Xom: No effect.
  • Yredelemnul: Create multiple allied derived undead to reach ** piety.

The Monk bonus does stack with that of a faded altar.


The main appeal of this background is the piety boost you gain upon choosing a god, especially when worshiping a god who offers bonuses at 1* or even 2* of piety, such as Okawaru or Makhleb. On the other hand, surviving until you find a suitable god to worship can be more challenging than with better-equipped backgrounds like Fighter or Gladiator.


  • Prior to 0.19, monks could not choose a starting weapon - instead they always started with unarmed combat.
  • Prior to 0.10, there was no piety bonus gained upon choosing a god.


Warriors FighterGladiatorMonkHunterBrigand
Zealots BerserkerAbyssal KnightChaos KnightCinder Acolyte
Warrior-mages EnchanterTransmuterArcane MarksmanWarper
Mages Hedge WizardConjurerSummonerNecromancerFire ElementalistIce ElementalistAir ElementalistEarth ElementalistVenom Mage
Adventurers ArtificerWandererDelver