From CrawlWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Obsolete: This article refers to an aspect of the game which has been removed. It is retained for historical reference only.
The Healer is a priest of Elyvilon. Healers begin with minor healing powers, but can gain far greater abilities in the long run. They are able to persuade monsters to abstain from bloodshed, gaining both piety and experience that way.

Healers are followers of Elyvilon the Healer. Elyvilon's creed is one of pacifism, and her worshipers can actually pacify monsters by healing them. However, they are forbidden from harming non-hostile monsters, letting their allies die, or using any form of evil magic or weapons.

Healers start the game with 55 piety.

Preferred Races

Deep Dwarf, Hill Orc, Naga, Minotaur, Draconian and Gargoyle are the recommended races if you pick a Healer Background.

Racial Restrictions

Demigods, Demonspawn, Ghouls, Mummies, and Vampires may not be Healers, as they are banned from worshipping Elyvilon.

Starting Equipment

Some species may receive different items based on their unique restrictions.

Starting Skills and Stats

These are adjusted by your species' aptitudes.

Choosing Healer adds 4 to your starting Strength, Intelligence and Dexterity.


Pacification is a more powerful ability than it may seem at first, allowing you to smite-target dangerous beasts and remove them from the fight entirely. Just be aware that doing so grants you less XP than killing the thing.


Healers were removed in 0.16.

Prior to 0.15, Healers started with 100 gold, 2 levels of fighting, and only one bread ration.

Prior to 0.14, Healers started with 4 levels of Invocations.

Warriors FighterGladiatorMonkHunterBrigand
Zealots BerserkerChaos KnightCinder Acolyte
Warrior-mages WarperHexslingerEnchanterReaver
Mages Hedge WizardConjurerSummonerNecromancerFire ElementalistIce ElementalistAir ElementalistEarth ElementalistAlchemist
Adventurers ArtificerShapeshifterWandererDelver